Praying for my Husband’s Spiritual Growth

April 10, 2013

Today I’ve asked myself the question, “Do I earnestly pray for my husband’s spiritual growth and wisdom as he leads our family?”

Two scriptures Ephesians 1:15-19 and Colossians 1:9-12 are quite applicable.  I read through them and then put them into prayers.  These are now a part of my prayer journal for my husband.

Prayer derived from Eph. 1:15-19  Lord, because of his faith and love in you, Jesus Christ, and his love toward all the saints, I will not cease to thank You for Darrel, remembering him in my prayers, that You, God of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of glory, may give Darrel a spirit of wisdom and of revelation in the knowledge of You, having his eyes enlightened, that he may know what is the hope to which Christ has called him, what are the riches of Your glorious inheritance in the saints, and what is the immeasurable greatness of your power toward us who believe, according to the working of Your great might.

Prayer derived from Colossians 1:9-12  This day, Lord Jesus, I pray for Darrel, asking that You will fill him with the knowledge of Your will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so as to walk in a manner worthy of You, Lord, fully pleasing to You, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of You, Lord Jesus Christ.  May Darrel be strengthened with all power according to Your glorious might, for all endurance and patience with joy, giving thanks to You, Father, who has qualified Darrel to share in the inheritance of the saints in light.

There are so many rich scriptures we can make into prayers for our husband.  I plan on finding more, reading and pondering over them for myself as well, and then writing them into prayers so that I will be a faithful prayer warrior for the man who leads our family!

Thank you Lord for husbands.  Bless each one today in specific, special ways, and let us as wives be blessings to them as their helpers.

Leave a Reply

