Little Voice

February 7, 2012

Due to this cold resting upon my vocal chords I have little voice this morning and what I do have sounds like a frog!  So, I opted to have Isaac read a passage out of The Gospel Primer this morning for our morning bible time.  I had him read ‘Perspective in Trials’ and then had each of the children read the scripture passages that went along with what the author wrote.  We were highly encouraged by all the scriptures but had Hope read 2 Corinthians 12 two times as it was the most encouraging to me and I hoped they’d all, especially Hope, be as encouraged as me. 🙂

2 Corinthians 12 (7) …there was given me a thorn in the flesh, a messenger of Satan to torment me–to keep me from exalting myself! (8) Concerning this I implored the Lord three times that it might leave me. (9) And He has said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.’ Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. (10) Therefore I am well content with weaknesses, with insults, with distresses, with persecutions, with difficulties, for Christ’s sake; for when I am weak, then I am strong.”

I loved reading the part when Paul IMPLORED the Lord THREE times.  Imploring means to beg someone earnestly or desperately for something.  Paul begged in earnest.  It brings me comfort to know that a man like Paul begged.  But oh, how interesting…how unhuman-like, how like God, the Omnicient One to say to Him, ‘My grace is sufficient for you.’  These six words are a comfort, a balm and encourage my soul again this day.  I think back to how many times I’ve been driving alone in my mini-van on an errand or to the grocery store imploring God to remove sickness from my daughter.  And all the while my prayers ended with not my will but Yours be done; and peace ensued.

1 Corinthians 13:12 ‘For now we see through a glass darkly; but then face to face: now I know in part; but then I shall know even as also I am known.’

Wow, wow, and again I say wow!

One Response to “Little Voice”

  1. David and Betty said

    Magnify the Living God!

    WOW (wonder of wonders).

    Philippians 4:6-9 (read slowly and note difference between the reading of v 6 and v 9)

    We love you all dearly and pray for you daily

    David and Betty

Leave a Reply

